SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 124

WHEREAS, Civic and business leaders of the Coastal Bend are gathering in Austin on February 8, 2017, to celebrate the many qualities that make their region one of the state's premier vacation destinations; and

WHEREAS, Each year, the Coastal Bend draws more than 9.3 million travelers from across the country and around the globe; in Corpus Christi alone, these 9.3 million guests collectively spend nearly 21 million days visiting the city, thereby infusing over \$1.3 billion into the local economy and supporting some 29,000 jobs; and

WHEREAS, The myriad popular attractions in the area include the Padre Island National Seashore, the Texas State Aquarium, and the South Texas Botanical Gardens and Nature Center, with its 182 acres of tropical flowers, butterflies, and parrots; in addition, visitors enjoy such cultural and educational venues as the Art Museum of South Texas, the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History, and the USS *Lexington* aircraft carrier; the Coastal Bend also hosts many youth and amateur sporting events; and

WHEREAS, Tourism is a mainstay of the state economy as a whole, generating billions of dollars in state and local tax revenue while bolstering businesses related to transportation, retail sales, dining, and entertainment; the Coastal Bend area contributes significantly to the vibrancy of this industry in the Lone Star State, and its residents may indeed take pride in the rich heritage and natural beauty that bring so many visitors to their communities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby recognize February 8, 2017, as Coastal Bend Day at the State Capitol and extend to the region's delegation sincere best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable event.

Hinojosa, Kolkhorst, Lucio, Zaffirini

S.R. No. 124

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 8, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate