## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 160

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Miles Elementary School of the Miles Independent School District for having been designated a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School by the United States Department of Education; and

Ribbon School by the United States Department of Education; and WHEREAS, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was established by the United States Department of Education in 1982 to recognize campuses that have demonstrated superior academic performance by students or have made notable progress in improving the educational outcomes among economically disadvantaged students; and

WHEREAS, Miles Elementary School is a small rural school located in West Texas; it is one of only 330 public and private schools nationwide and 29 schools in Texas to receive this prestigious honor in 2016; and

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of principal Sharla Arp, the school's faculty and staff implemented a range of innovative strategies to create a supportive and effective learning environment for students; the school also offers a variety of extracurricular activities to enrich student life; and

WHEREAS, The students and teachers of Miles Elementary School have established a record of hard work and scholastic excellence, and it is truly fitting that they and the administration receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the administrators, students, faculty, and staff of Miles Elementary School on their commitment to excellence in education and extend congratulations to all on the school's selection as a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the school as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Perry

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 13, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate