## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 169

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the DeSoto High School football team, which won the 2016 University Interscholastic League Class 6A Division II state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The team won the school's first state title in football after having been ranked in the top three throughout the 2016 season; team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of head coach Todd Peterman and his outstanding staff, these student-athletes developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, DeSoto High School and the people of DeSoto are proud of the team's members for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the DeSoto High School football team on its outstanding season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the 2016 Class 6A Division II state championship; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 15, 2017.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate