## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 171

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Silver Sorors of the Collin County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, who are being honored at the 2017 Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex Joint Founders Day Luncheon on February 25; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was established at Howard University in 1913; through programs of service, the sorority has long worked to encourage young women to strive for academic excellence, to provide support for the vulnerable and underserved, and to participate in the establishment of sound public policy; the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex chapters recognize the long-standing members of the sorority for 25, 50, and 75 years of service; and

WHEREAS, The Silver Sorors being honored by the Collin County Alumnae Chapter are Rhonda Campbell, JeQuetta D. Moore, Tasha Warren Sledge, and DeAdrian Eleby Maddox; over the years, these exemplary women have remained loyal Delta Sigma Theta Sorority members and have served as mentors and role models to countless sisters; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding women are truly deserving of recognition for their longtime membership in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and for the important role they have played in helping the sorority to fulfill its mission of promoting service on behalf of others; now, therefore, be it

behalf of others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
Legislature, hereby commend the Silver Sorors on their 25 years
of service to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and on their many
achievements and extend to them best wishes in all their future
endeavors; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt for} \ {\tt them} \ {\tt as} \ {\tt an} \ {\tt expression} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt esteem} \ {\tt from} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt Texas} \ {\tt Senate}.$ 

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 13, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate