SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 262

WHEREAS, The United States was involved in a conflagration that engulfed the world in which thousands had answered the call to defend America, and 80 of those men called were later known as the Doolittle Raiders; and

WHEREAS, The daring and heroic Doolittle Raid consisted of 16 land-based B-25 bombers which were launched from the pitching deck of the USS *Hornet* aircraft carrier on a one-way mission to bomb Tokyo without fighter cover and the crews uncertain if they would survive; and

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Jimmy Doolittle and his raiders knew their mission was highly dangerous and risky, but they proceeded undaunted, knowing what the raid would mean for the morale of America; and

WHEREAS, The raid served as a demoralizing blow to the Empire of Japan and served notice that America would strike back after the horrific attack upon Pearl Harbor; it was widely celebrated throughout America and would be the subject of countless newspaper articles, newsreel films, books, movies, and speeches; and

WHEREAS, Three of the raiders died when forced to ditch their bomber, and three were executed by their Japanese captors; one died from the result of torture and mistreatment, and four were held as prisoners of war until the surrender of Japan over three years later; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby extend its deepest and most profound

1

S.R. No. 262

gratitude for the brave actions of the Doolittle Raiders 75 years ago this April 18, 2017; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Senate urge all Texans to commemorate the Doolittle Raid and encourage public awareness of how the actions of these 80 warriors changed the world for the better; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared and presented to the last surviving Doolittle Raider, Lieutenant Colonel Dick Cole, of Comfort, Texas, as an expression of highest regard for him and his fellow Doolittle Raiders from the Texas Senate.

Campbell

Bettencourt Birdwell Buckingham Burton Creighton Estes Garcia Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffines Huffman Hughes Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Miles Nelson Nichols Perry

Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Uresti Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate