SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 265

WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2017 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at a gala event in Austin on February 21 and 22, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Presented every two years, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards pay tribute to artists as well as arts institutions and businesses that have made important contributions to the wide variety of artistic disciplines in the state, either through individual achievement or generous support; this year's event is co-chaired by Guillermo Nicolas and Peter Holt, both of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2017 awards are: John Paul and Eloise DeJoria of Paul Mitchell and Patrón Tequila, Corporate Patron; Kris Kristofferson, Multimedia; Lynn Wyatt, Individual Arts Patron; Lauren Anderson, Dance; Yolanda Adams, Music; Dallas Black Dance Theatre, Arts Education; Renée Elise Goldsberry, Theatre; the Tobin Endowment, Foundation Patron; Leo Villareal, Visual Art; Frank Welch, Architecture; John Phillip Santos, Literary; Scott Pelley, Journalism; and Kenny Rogers, Lifetime Achievement; and

WHEREAS, The arts greatly enhance the quality of life in Texas, and the creative individuals, artistic institutions, and committed patrons being honored by the Texas Cultural Trust have contributed immeasurably to the rich cultural tapestry of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2017 Texas Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the award winners as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 22, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate