## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 294

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 2016-2017 class of Leadership La Porte; and

WHEREAS, Leadership La Porte was established in 1988 by the La Porte-Bayshore Chamber of Commerce with the goal of assisting in the development of dynamic leaders for the chamber and for the community; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding program consists of a series of educational sessions on such topics as public education, transportation, economics, local and state government, tourism, and the environment; these sessions are led by experienced leaders in the relevant fields and provide expert insight into the challenges and opportunities facing future leaders; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2016-2017 class of Leadership La Porte are Preston Bearden, Lisa Camp, Lydia Chavez-Garcia, Matt Daeumer, Tiffany Fitzwater, Amy Hunt, Corey Marlar, Jason Mitchell, Todd Schoppe, Michelle Thomas, Samuel Voorhees, and Christiane Waldron; and

WHEREAS, These men and women are dedicating themselves to making La Porte a better place in which to live, work, and raise a family, and they are truly deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the La Porte-Bayshore Chamber of Commerce and the members of the 2016-2017 class of Leadership La Porte on their commitment to community service and extend to all best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of all associated with Leadership La Porte as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Taylor of Galveston

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate