SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 340

WHEREAS, March 2 marks the anniversary of that historic day in 1836 when residents of Texas officially declared their independence from Mexico, thereby giving birth to the independent republic that would stand on its own for more than nine years before becoming the 28th state of the Union; and

WHEREAS, The proud Texans who issued the call for independence were members of the Convention of 1836, which met at Washington-on-the-Brazos on March 1 of that fateful year; as they gathered, the valiant defenders of the Alamo were facing off against the troops of Mexican ruler Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna, and the Texas revolutionaries had reached a crucial point in their campaign for greater political freedom; and

WHEREAS, Stating the views of the delegates in no uncertain terms, the Texas Declaration of Independence listed their grievances against the Mexican government and announced their bold conclusion: "that the people of Texas do now constitute a free, Sovereign, and independent republic, and are fully invested with all the rights and attributes which properly belong to independent nations"; and

WHEREAS, Winning that independence on the battlefield would take another six weeks and the lives of many brave Texans, but with this remarkable proclamation the 59 signatories of the Texas Declaration of Independence had enunciated a vision of liberty, independence, and just government and charted a dramatic new course for the land they called home; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 340

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commemorate Texas Independence Day 2017 and pay tribute to the immense contributions of those individuals who helped found the Republic of Texas.

Bettencourt, Rodríguez

Birdwell Buckingham Burton Campbell Creighton Estes Garcia Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffines Huffman Hughes Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Miles Nelson Nichols Perry

Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Uresti Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate