## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 384

## In Memory of Julia Jones Matthews

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Abilene in mourning the loss of Julia "Judy" Jones Matthews, who died November 17, 2016, at the age of 97; and WHEREAS, Judy Matthews was an exemplary citizen whose

WHEREAS, Judy Matthews was an exemplary citizen whose generous spirit and commitment to public service had a profound impact on the Abilene community; and

WHEREAS, She was born into a family with deep roots in the Abilene area; her ancestors included Captain Morgan Jones, a Texas railroader and one of the city's pioneers; and

WHEREAS, She was a cofounder and longtime president of the Dodge Jones Foundation, which is named in honor of her late brother; the foundation continues to play a vital role in supporting many of Abilene's community-based organizations and was instrumental in creating what became Texas Tech University's Health Sciences Center on Pine Street; and

WHEREAS, She was honored as an Abilenian of the Millennium by the Abilene Reporter-News in 2000, and later that same year, she was named Citizen of the Year; and

WHEREAS, A woman of vision, courage, and compassion, she gave unselfishly to others, and her graciousness, her remarkable philanthropic spirit, and her enthusiasm for living each day to the fullest were an inspiration to all who knew her and all who were privileged to share in her life; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family and friends of Julia Jones Matthews; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Julia Jones Matthews.

Buckingham

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2017, by a rising vote.

## Secretary of the Senate