## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 390

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas A&M University women's swimming and diving team, which won the 2017 Southeastern Conference championship; and

WHEREAS, The Aggies successfully defended their 2016 title by scoring a school-record 1,304 points over the course of the meet while defeating a powerhouse University of Georgia team; they won the meet on the strength of the performance of Female Swimmer of the Meet Sarah Gibson, on the dominance of the team's 163 points in the 200-yard breaststroke, and on the significant accomplishments of other team members; and

WHEREAS, These young student athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the year, and team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the exceptional leadership of head coach Steve Bultman, who has led the Aggie women to six conference championships, the swimmers have developed remarkable teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M University and Texans across the state are proud of the Aggies for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Texas A&M University women's swimming and diving team on winning the 2017 Southeastern Conference championship and extend to team members best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 7, 2017.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate