SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 452

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Pastor David L. Smith and First Lady Linda Smith on the occasion of their 25th Pastoral Anniversary Kick-off Community Celebration, which is being held at New Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church in Houston on April 2, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Smith returned home to New Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church in 1992 after having entered the ministry at True Vine Missionary Baptist Church; he had grown up as a member of New Bethlehem under the leadership of Pastor Rafael Stiller; and

WHEREAS, Under Pastor Smith's outstanding leadership, the church has experienced significant growth and played a vital role in the life of the community with such programs as a food pantry, a tape ministry, and a mission ministry for people who are sick or no longer able to leave their homes; and

WHEREAS, A man of spiritual depth and devotion, Pastor Smith has prayed with and counseled his congregation in times of hardship and bereavement and rejoiced with them in times of celebration and plenty; throughout his pastorate at the church, he has been blessed with the enduring love and support of his wife, First Lady Linda Smith; and

wife, First Lady Linda Smith; and
WHEREAS, Inspirational and dedicated to helping others,
this beloved pastor has had a profound impact on the lives of
countless people; now, therefore, be it

countless people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
Legislature, hereby commend Pastor David L. Smith and First Lady
Linda Smith on their faithful service to New Bethlehem Missionary
Baptist Church and extend to them best wishes for a memorable
25th Pastoral Anniversary Kick-off Community Celebration; and,
be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this distinguished couple as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Garcia

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that th

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 20, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate