## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 466

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Barton Middle School and Dr. T. C. McCormick Jr. Middle School on their success in Learning Ally's 2017 Great Reading Games competition; and

WHEREAS, Learning Ally is a nonprofit organization that provides learning materials to students with print disabilities, and it has sponsored the Great Reading Games since 2014; this exemplary program gives students with reading difficulties an opportunity to be recognized for their efforts and to improve their reading success; and

their reading success; and WHEREAS, Barton Middle School and Dr. T. C. McCormick Jr. Middle School are in the Hays Consolidated Independent School District; they have both been ranked among the top 10 schools nationwide in this prestigious competition; and

WHEREAS, In the 2017 contest, students read more than 5.3 million pages combined, a significant increase from the year before; as a result of their participation, students tend to substantially extend the amount of time they spend reading and are motivated to read above their grade level; and

WHEREAS, The people of Hays County are proud of the students at Barton Middle School and Dr. T. C. McCormick Jr. Middle School for their hard work and perseverance as participants in this acclaimed competition; now, therefore, be it

participants in this acclaimed competition; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the students, faculty, and staff of Barton Middle School and Dr. T. C. McCormick Jr. Middle School on their commitment to excellence in education and extend congratulations to them on their success in the 2017 Learning Ally Great Reading Games; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these outstanding schools as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Campbell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 27, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate