SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 485

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize members of the Girls' School of Austin fourth-grade class, who are visiting the Capitol on March 27, 2017; and

class, who are visiting the Capitol on March 27, 2017; and WHEREAS, Founded in 2002, the Girls' School of Austin provides an academically challenging education for girls in kindergarten through eighth grade; the school's mission is to help students become confident young women who lead fulfilling and intellectually vibrant lives; and

WHEREAS, Fourth graders at the Girls' School of Austin learn about the mechanics of the different branches of Texas government with an emphasis on the legislature; students study the historical and contemporary role of women in state government, and they write letters to legislators about issues that most concern them; and

WHEREAS, Guided by their teacher, Rachel Lee, the members of the fourth-grade class are Adanna Amalaha, Ella Kate Brotman, Ivy Christie, Lila Cisneros-Wise, Willa Crocker, Elyse Daniels, Adriana Davies, Isabella DiCarlo, Harper Freach, Emery Ledoux, Mackenzie Lopez, Josie Mullan, Grace Philips, Sylvie Powell, Sonia Randle, Brooklyn Rice, Ainsley Rudd, and Grace Schlegel; and WHEREAS, Citizen participation is vital to a robust and

WHEREAS, Citizen participation is vital to a robust and flourishing democracy, and through the study of engaged state leaders and the governmental process, these outstanding young women are learning how to make positive contributions to their communities; now, therefore, be it

communities; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby welcome the fourth-grade class of the Girls' School of Austin and extend to them best wishes for an enjoyable and informative visit to the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the class as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 23, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate