SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 519

In Memory of Joe H. Robbins

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Brownwood in mourning the loss of Joe H. Robbins, who died March 8, 2017, at the age of 84; and

WHEREAS, Joe Robbins was born on August 19, 1932, in Brown County; he was a beloved member of his community who touched the lives of those who knew him with his wisdom, his warmth, and his dedicated service to others; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Robbins served with distinction in the United States Navy during the Korean War; he later joined the Brownwood Police Department, where he worked diligently on behalf of citizens for 41 years; during his exemplary career, he held every position on the police force, and he was honored to have served as the Brownwood chief of police for six years; and

WHEREAS, A man of deep spiritual devotion, Mr. Robbins was a longtime member and deacon of Coggin Avenue Baptist Church; he was an avid fan of the Brownwood Lions, and he had served as a member and former president of the Brownwood Independent School District Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, Above all things, Mr. Robbins cherished his family; he shared 61 years of marriage with Clara Robbins, and he found immense joy spending time with his children and grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Joe Robbins was respected and admired throughout the community, and he leaves behind memories that will long be

S.R. No. 519

cherished by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Joe Robbins; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joe H. Robbins.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 29, 2017, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate