SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 538

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize members of the Lipan High School varsity boys basketball team, who recently won the Division 1A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Lipan Indians were ultimately victorious in their appearance at the state finals after a fierce competition against some of the most talented teams in Texas; in addition to winning the championship, the team had an overall season record of 36-3, setting a new record for wins for Lipan High School; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year; team members Santana Martinez, Tyler Rice, Hayden Richardson, Eric Miller, Tate Phillips, Ty Phillips, Ty Bryant, Layton Sharp, William Westerhaus, Carter McFadden, Derrick Cook, Bryce Shockley, and Brayden Jones can indeed take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership of head coach Brent Gaylor and assistant coaches Tony Phillips and Steve Bryant and with the assistance of managers Chris Baldree and Caden Cogdill, the Indians have developed exceptional team work and discipline; the team also benefited from the invaluable support of ball boys Tripp Phillips and Court Gaylor and water girl Hannah Gaylor; and

WHEREAS, Lipan High School and the City of Lipan are proud of the Indians for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the Lipan High School varsity boys basketball team for their successful season and congratulate the team on winning the Division 1A state basketball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 29, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate