## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 552

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to honor the members of the Grimes County Republican Women on the occasion of Texas Federation of Republican Women Day at the Capitol on April 6, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2011, the Grimes County Republican Women is a local affiliate of the National Federation of Republican Women; members are guided in all things by their conservative principles, and they engage in fellowship and fun as a means of encouraging and empowering women in the county; and

a means of encouraging and empowering women in the county; and WHEREAS, Under the guidance of club president Karen Hale, and with the administrative support of vice president Marilyn Bettes, secretary Sherry Fauth, and legislative chair Susan Patrick, the group has helped the Grimes County Republican Party to develop candidates, influence policy, and elect strong state leaders; and

WHEREAS, In addition to promoting the goals of the Republican Party, the club has contributed greatly to the region by providing pocket copies of the United States Constitution to students throughout the county, donating patriotic literature to public school libraries, and actively supporting local firefighters and service members stationed overseas; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Grimes County Republican Women are making a lasting difference in their community and the state, and they are indeed deserving of recognition for their many accomplishments: now, therefore, be it

accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th
Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Grimes County
Republican Women for their exemplary service to the community and
extend to them best wishes in all their future endeavors; and, be
it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the

above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 3, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate