## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 565

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Richland Springs Coyotes six-man football team, which won the 2016 University Interscholastic League Class 1A Division II state championship; and

WHEREAS, The Coyotes defeated the Balmorhea High School Bears by a score of 96-50 to win their eighth state title since 2004; the team is only the fourth team in Texas high school football history to win eight state championships; and

WHEREAS, These student athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the season, and team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Jerry Burkhart, the Coyotes have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Richland Springs High School and the people of West Texas are proud of the Coyotes for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the Richland Springs Coyotes six-man football team on its outstanding season and extend congratulations to team members on winning the 2016 University Interscholastic League Class 1A Division II state championship; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 4, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate