SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 588

WHEREAS, Members of the Dallas County Council of Republican Women are gathering at the State Capitol on April 6, 2017, as part of the Texas Federation of Republican Women's Legislative Day, and this provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the group for the vital role it plays in civic affairs; and WHEREAS, Established in 1955, the DCCRW serves as the

WHEREAS, Established in 1955, the DCCRW serves as the umbrella organization for Republican women's clubs in the area, providing resources and support for their mission of electing Republican candidates to office at all levels of government; and

WHEREAS, The DCCRW also works to promote the principles and polices of the Republican Party and participates in community outreach efforts to encourage involvement in the political process; in addition, the council carries out a number of initiatives to assist those serving in the armed forces, including distributing knitted helmet caps to deploying troops, waving flags to welcome those returning home, and providing refreshments at military-related events; in carrying out its myriad projects, the council is guided by its current president, Annette Ratliff; and

WHEREAS, The Dallas County Council of Republican Women is making a lasting difference through its grassroots activism, and its members may take justifiable pride in the group's rich history of public engagement; now, therefore, be it

history of public engagement; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby honor the members of the Dallas County Council of Republican Women on the occasion of their visit to the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to the delegation for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the council as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffines

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 6, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate