SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 603

In Memory
of
Jonathan J. Golden
Jordan B. Pierson
Ryan D. Hammond
Quinn L. Johnson-Harris

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the lives of Captain Jonathan J. Golden, Captain Jordan B. Pierson, Staff Sergeant Ryan D. Hammond, and Senior Airman Quinn L. Johnson-Harris, who died bravely in the line of duty on October 2, 2015; and

WHEREAS, These distinguished members of the United States Air Force were deployed to Afghanistan from the 317th Airlift Group at Dyess Air Force Base near Abilene; they were among six service members and five civilians who lost their lives when their C-130J crashed during initial take-off from Jalalabad Airfield, Afghanistan; and

WHEREAS, Captain Golden, a 33-year-old resident of Camarillo, California, and Captain Pierson, a 28-year-old resident of Abilene, Texas, both served as pilots; Staff Sergeant Hammond, a 26-year-old resident of Moundsville, West Virginia, and Senior Airman Johnson-Harris, a 21-year-old resident of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, served as loadmasters; each of these outstanding servicemen performed their duties with the utmost diligence and dedication; and

WHEREAS, The Abilene Chamber of Commerce is working in cooperation with the air force to honor the sacrifices of these exemplary men with a commemorative expansion to the Dyess Memorial Park; the steadfast resolve and patriotism of these

S.R. No. 603

servicemen and their sacrifice on behalf of their country will not be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby honor the lives of Captain Jonathan J. Golden, Captain Jordan B. Pierson, Staff Sergeant Ryan D. Hammond, and Senior Airman Quinn L. Johnson-Harris and extend sincere condolences to their families and loved ones; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in their honor and as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

Bettencourt	Huffines	Rodríguez
Birdwell	Huffman	Schwertner
Burton	Hughes	Seliger
Campbell	Kolkhorst	Taylor of Collin
Creighton	Lucio	Taylor of Galveston
Estes	Menéndez	Uresti
Garcia	Miles	Watson
Hall	Nelson	West
Hancock	Nichols	Whitmire
Hinojosa	Perry	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2017, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate