SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 622

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the physicians, residents, medical students, and advocate members of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association who are visiting the State Capitol on April 20, 2017, to celebrate Doctors of Osteopathic Medical Excellence Day, known as D.O.M.E. Day, which takes place during National Osteopathic Medicine Week; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Osteopathic Medical Association was founded in 1900 by a group of five physicians with a mission to promote health care excellence for the people of Texas, advance the distinct philosophy and principles of osteopathic medicine, and embrace the family of the osteopathic profession and serve their unique needs; and

WHEREAS, As primary care doctors or specialists, physician members of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association help their patients to develop attitudes and lifestyles that both fight illness and prevent it; they give special attention to how the body's nerves, muscles, bones, and organs work together to influence health, and through osteopathic manipulative treatment, they can use their hands to diagnose injury and illness and encourage the body's natural ability to heal itself; and

WHEREAS, All members of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association play an essential role in the health care of countless Texans, and their contributions to the welfare and prosperity of the state are truly deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association for their outstanding work on behalf of the people of Texas and recognize April 20 as D.O.M.E. Day and April 16 through 22, 2017, as Texas Osteopathic Medicine Week; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 20, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate