SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 624

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Cavaliers for their exceptional contributions to the San Antonio community and to honor Dr. Michael Casillas on the occasion of his coronation as King Antonio XCV; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1926, the Texas Cavaliers are an association of more than 500 business, civic, and community leaders who work to promote and preserve the spirit of courage and independence demonstrated by the heroes of the Alamo; in 1989, the group developed the Texas Cavaliers Charitable Foundation to benefit vulnerable local children, and over the last two decades, the organization has raised more than \$2 million in support of local children's programs; and

WHEREAS, During Fiesta San Antonio, the Texas Cavaliers facilitate the Children's River Extravaganza, the Military Fiesta, and the Salute to First Responders programs; since 1927, the organization has selected a King from among its ranks to preside over fiesta festivities; and

WHEREAS, As the 95th King Antonio, Dr. Michael Casillas will distribute more than \$800,000 to children's charities in San Antonio, and he will spread merriment at over 100 schools, nursing homes, and hospitals throughout the city; and

WHEREAS, A distinguished steward of his community, Dr. Casillas exemplifies the highest ideals of a Texas Cavalier, and he is being crowned King Antonio XCV in the presence of city and military leaders at a ceremony on April 22, 2017; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 624

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Cavaliers for their many contributions to the San Antonio community and congratulate Dr. Michael Casillas on being named King Antonio XCV; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Campbell, Menéndez, Uresti, Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 18, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate