SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 630

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the ninth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary program is conducted by the Senate Hispanic Research Council and is named in honor of the late Senator Gregory Luna, who dedicated his life to public service and to fighting for educational equity; and

WHEREAS, A tribute to Senator Luna's legacy and his admirable work in the Senate, this prestigious program was created to provide undergraduate and graduate students from across the state with professional opportunities to gain experience by serving as full-time assistants to legislators in the Texas Senate; the program is designed to help students acquire the skills necessary to become successful leaders in our great state; and

WHEREAS, The members of the ninth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program have demonstrated outstanding dedication and hard work in Senate offices throughout the session; students of the ninth class are Jaqlyn Alderete of El Paso, serving in the office of Senator Eddie Lucio Jr.; Courtney Broderick of Arlington, serving in the office of Senator Sylvia Garcia; Zachary Cochran of Rockport, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick; Jesse Guadiana of Irving, serving in the office of Senator John Whitmire; Grace Hopkins of San Antonio, serving in the office of Senator Jose Menéndez; Jesus Perales Tovar III of Beaumont, serving in the office of Senator José Rodríguez; Jacob Rafael

1

S.R. No. 630

Peña of Allen, serving in the office of Senator Judith Zaffirini; and Julia Rose Von Alexander of Austin, serving in the office of Senator Carlos Uresti; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the ninth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program on their remarkable service and outstanding work over the course of the legislative session and extend to them best wishes for continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Garcia

Hinojosa Lucio Menéndez Miles Rodríguez Uresti Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 20, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate