## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 644

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Judge Victor Villarreal, who was appointed judge of Webb County Court at Law II, effective April 14, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Judge Victor Villarreal is a native of Laredo and a graduate cum laude of Texas A&M International University; he served internships at the National Science Foundation, the United States Department of State, and the Texas House of Representatives; he went on to earn a degree from The University of Texas School of Law; and

WHEREAS, While attending law school, Judge Villarreal served as president of the Hispanic Law Students Association, and under his leadership, the association established the Dean Susana I. Aleman Scholarship at the law school; and

WHEREAS, He returned to his hometown to practice law and became a founding partner of Villarreal and Romero; he has held multiple offices with the Texas Young Lawyers Association, and he was instrumental in bringing the Texas Supreme Court to Laredo for the first time in state history so that students interested in the legal profession could observe the court at work; he has also served as president of the Laredo-Webb County Bar Association, and during his tenure, the association created the Barbara Kazen Scholarship at Texas A&M International University; and

WHEREAS, Judge Villarreal is noted for his thorough knowledge of the law and his commitment to public service, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition as he assumes the bench of Webb County Court at Law II; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Judge Victor Villarreal on his many achievements and extend to him congratulations on his appointment as judge of Webb County Court at Law II; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2017.

## Secretary of the Senate