SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 667

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize United Evangelical Lutheran Church on the grand occasion of its 150th anniversary, which is being celebrated on May 14, 2017; and

WHEREAS, In 1967, three of the oldest Lutheran congregations in Texas merged to become the United Evangelical Lutheran Church; the Philadelphia Lutheran Church of Swiss Alp, the Trinity Lutheran Church of Black Jack, and the Salem Lutheran Church of Freyburg were established between 1867 and 1875, and many descendants of the founding congregations of these churches are active in the United Evangelical Lutheran Church today; and

WHEREAS, For well over a century, United Evangelical Lutheran Church leaders have ministered faithfully to the needs of innumerable Christians; the church has remained an invaluable source of comfort and strength for its members during times of heartache and loss and a source of joy and fellowship in times of celebration and prosperity; and

WHEREAS, United Evangelical Lutheran Church is a member of the Texas-Louisiana Gulf Coast Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America; under the wise stewardship of its pastors, the church has continued to grow and to undertake many worthy projects in the community; and

WHEREAS, Members of United Evangelical Lutheran Church worship in a beautiful white sanctuary on a winding and scenic rural road, and the church symbolizes 150 years of witness and service in Fayette County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and members of United Evangelical Lutheran Church on the joyous occasion of its 150th anniversary; and, be it further

its 150th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this church.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 24, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate