SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 680

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Cheryl Jones, who has been named the recipient of the 2017 June Bratcher Award by the Texas Medical Association Political Action Committee; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious honor is presented biennially to honor individuals for outstanding volunteerism and significant involvement in a federal or state political campaign during the last election cycle; and

WHEREAS, The award is modeled on the Belle Chenault Award given by the American Medical Association Political Action Committee and is named in honor of the first recipient of that award, June Bratcher, who served as president of the Bexar County Medical Alliance and excelled at organizing the medical community for political action; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl Jones is truly a fitting recipient of the June Bratcher Award; through her longstanding civic and political engagement, her support of public health initiatives, and her farsighted and strong advocacy for doctors and patients, she has contributed greatly to the medical community; and

WHEREAS, She is married to Dr. Russell Jones, who serves as an emergency room physician at Scott and White Medical Center in Temple, and she has worked tirelessly to improve the provision of health care in this state; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl Jones has been an inspiration to others through her leadership and her commitment to public service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Cheryl Jones on her outstanding efforts on behalf of the medical community and its patients and extend to her congratulations on receiving the June Bratcher Award in 2017 and best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 26, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate