SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 685

WHEREAS, Former San Antonio Spurs player George "Iceman" Gervin is celebrating his 65th birthday on April 26, 2017, and this occasion presents a welcome opportunity to recognize not only his remarkable athletic achievements but also his stellar record of service to the Alamo City; and

WHEREAS, Born in 1952, George Gervin played basketball at Eastern Michigan University, where he tallied a total of 1,044 points and 562 rebounds and gained recognition for his devastating outside jump shot and his equally adept skills in driving to the basket, artfully avoiding defenders, and successfully finishing a play with his trademark finger-roll layup; in honor of his singular accomplishments, the university retired his jersey in 1986 and inducted him into the university's Athletic Hall of Fame in 1993; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Gervin began his professional career with the Virginia Squires of the American Basketball Association, and during his four-year tenure in the ABA, he established a reputation as an unstoppable offensive force on the hardwood and earned All-Star status three times; he also received the nickname "Iceman" for his extraordinarily consistent production and on-court demeanor and his clutch performances when the game was on the line; and

WHEREAS, In 1974, Mr. Gervin was acquired by the San Antonio Spurs, and after the franchise joined the National Basketball Association in 1976, he helped lead the team to five division titles over nine years; moreover, he garnered All-Star honors nine consecutive times and received the Most Valuable Player Award for his outstanding performance in the 1980 All-Star Game; and

WHEREAS, Among the best players to ever don the silver and black of San Antonio, Mr. Gervin scored a career total of 26,595 points, and today he remains the Spurs' all-time leader in points per game and ranks among the top five in franchise history in field goals made and attempted, free throws made, rebounds, assists, steals, and blocked shots; in addition, he is one of only three players in league history to win at least four scoring titles, along with Michael Jordan and Wilt Chamberlain, and ranks in the top 50 of all-time NBA scoring leaders; the Spurs retired his number 44 jersey in December 1987, and he is one of only six San Antonio players to ever receive that honor; and

WHEREAS, Since his retirement, Mr. Gervin has been accorded a host of other prestigious accolades; in 1996, he became the first Spurs player to be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, and he was also one of the inaugural inductees of the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame and was selected for inclusion in the Texas Sports Hall of Fame; moreover, he has been named one of the 50 greatest players in league history by the NBA, earning his rightful place in a pantheon of basketball legends whose exploits have helped shape the game they love; and

WHEREAS, Today, Mr. Gervin serves as a community relations representative with the Spurs, a role in which he devotes considerable time and energy to speaking at schools, banquets, and charities, coaching at basketball clinics, and lending his respected voice to a number of valuable public service announcements; outside the organization, he has further

S.R. No. 685

benefited the city as the founder of the George Gervin Youth Center, an institution dedicated to helping educate local kids, assisting senior citizens with finding quality affordable housing, and providing young adults with the necessary resources to become productive members of the community; and

WHEREAS, George Gervin built one of the most storied careers in Spurs franchise history and has continued to give back to the local community ever since, and he is indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate George "Iceman" Gervin on his 65th birthday and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mr. Gervin as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Menéndez, Campbell, Uresti, Zaffirini

Bettencourt Birdwell Buckingham Burton Creighton Estes Garcia Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffines Huffman Hughes Kolkhorst Lucio Miles Nelson Nichols

Perry Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Watson West Whitmire

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 26, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate