SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 689

WHEREAS, The John Tyler High School ethics bowl team competed in the National High School Ethics Bowl Finals held at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill April 7-9, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The National High School Ethics Bowl was established in 2012 through a partnership between the Parr Center for Ethics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the Squire Family Foundation; several months before the regional Ethics Bowl contests, students are presented with a series of ethical and philosophical dilemmas; after preparing the cases, teams meet at competitions to be judged on the quality and depth of their reasoning, their ability to present coherent arguments and to take into account likely objections to them, and their ability to maintain a respectful tone while engaging in analysis and discussion; and

WHEREAS, The Tyler squad reached the national contest for the first time in school history after emerging victorious at the regional meet in February; composed of seniors Tamia Williams, Avery Oliver, Anadja Jamison, and Jaela Wideman, the team benefited from the guidance of ethics department faculty members at The University of Texas at Tyler, and it also received generous financial support from local businesses and organizations; and

WHEREAS, With their fine showing on the national stage, these notable young Texans have brought credit to their school and their community, and they may indeed take justifiable pride in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate the John Tyler High School ethics bowl team on its participation in the 2017 National High School Ethics Bowl Finals and extend to each of the members sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate