## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 697

WHEREAS, The Winnsboro Wrestling Club enjoyed an outstanding

2016-2017 season filled with memorable performances; and
WHEREAS, In only its second year of competition, the
Crusaders team once again boasted a deep lineup of talented
wrestlers, netting an impressive haul of 61 gold medals, 56
silver medals, and 36 bronze medals, as well as several state titles; and

WHEREAS, Many of the club's members participated in the 2017 Novice State Tournament held in Round Rock in January; the team experienced a number of triumphant moments at the state contest, with Jacob Laborde capturing the championship crown, Zeb Fulmer, Alec Telles, Caden Crump, and Keith Nichols placing second in their weight classes, and Derrick Coffman finishing third in his division; and

WHEREAS, The following month, the Crusaders competed in the 2017 Texas USA Wrestling state championship at the Legends Sports Complex in The Woodlands, the largest tournament of its kind during the season; at the rookie event, Mr. Telles clinched the state title and Ryan Graham won silver in his weight class; in the open division, the club was proudly represented by 11 wrestlers, including Gage Fulmer, who placed third in his weight class; and

WHEREAS, Ably guided by coach Mike Laborde, the Crusaders demonstrated admirable skill and determination throughout the season, with each member of the roster contributing to the team's accomplishments, and they may take justifiable pride in their tremendous efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, Legislature, hereby congratulate the Winnsboro Wrestling Club on its achievements during the 2016-2017 season and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Crusaders as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate