SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 704

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Medical Association and May 9, 2017, as the Texas Medical Association Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching Day; and

WHEREAS, This special occasion is taking place in conjunction with National Teacher Appreciation Day; in 1989, Dr. Max C. Butler conceived of an idea to honor science teachers and appointed a blue ribbon committee on science and scientific affairs, which led to the creation of a Science Teacher of the Year award; today, this honor recognizes the outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers who share their energy and enthusiasm for science through creative and innovative methods to cultivate student interest in medicine and science; and

WHEREAS, In 1998, Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler, longtime supporters of the science teacher award program, established an endowment through the Texas Medical Association Foundation; to date, the association has honored nearly 200 outstanding science teachers with awards totaling more than \$408,000; and

WHEREAS, The monetary value of the awards for 2017 is \$60,500; the funds will be disbursed to deserving teachers so that they have the opportunity to enhance their teaching methods and advance their schools' science curriculum; and

WHEREAS, Science teachers play an essential role in the development of future physicians, scientists, and researchers, and the Butlers' contributions toward educational excellence

1

S.R. No. 704

have earned them the respect and appreciation of the educational community and Texans across the state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. and Mrs. Ernest C. Butler and the Texas Medical Association on their commitment to science education and extend to all best wishes for a productive and rewarding Texas Medical Association Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching Day; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of these awards and the science teachers of Texas.

Seliger, Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate