SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 740

WHEREAS, The members of the fifth class of Governor William P. Clements Jr. Scholars have distinguished themselves through their commitment to public service and public policy; and

WHEREAS, These young Texans are participating in the Clements Legislative Study Program, which is hosted by the Texas Conservative Coalition Research Institute; this exemplary program seeks to train, support, and sustain the next generation of leaders and public servants, instilling in them the values and work ethic of former governor William P. Clements Jr.; and

WHEREAS, Governor Clements overcame the misfortunes that befell his family during the Great Depression to create the world's largest offshore drilling company; he won an upset victory to become the state's first Republican governor since Reconstruction, bringing his business acumen to state government and focusing on such issues as sound budgeting, crime prevention, and economic diversification; and

WHEREAS, The Clements Legislative Study Program is the only program of its kind to bring conservative students to Austin so that they may gain valuable experience in leadership and public service by working directly with members of the Texas Legislature; and

WHEREAS, The program's fifth class consists of Logan Davidson, Gustav Gygi, Elizabeth Haynie, Daniel Manks, Ashton Moore, Julia Reeves, Evan Reid, Kelly Robinson, Saurabh Sharma, Abby Sinclair, Horace Tipton, and Madison Yandell; and

WHEREAS, By taking part in this special program, the members of the fifth class of Governor William P. Clements

1

S.R. No. 740

Jr. Scholars are furthering their understanding of civics, government, and history, and the knowledge and skills they learn from their time at the Texas Legislature will serve them well in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend the Governor William P. Clements Jr. Scholars for their dedication to public policy and for their service to their state and nation and extend to them best wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the students as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffines

Campbell Kolkhorst Seliger Taylor of Collin

Patrick, President of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Taylor of Galveston

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate