SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 745

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize State Representative Four Price, who has been named the recipient of the Mary Elizabeth Holdsworth Butt Award for Mental Health; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious honor is presented by Mental Health America of Texas, the state's longest-serving mental health education and advocacy group; the award is given to a Texan for his or her outstanding contributions to and leadership in improving the lives of Texans affected by mental illness; and

WHEREAS, Representative Price is a fourth-generation Texan from Amarillo and is serving his fourth term in the Texas House of Representatives; a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin and Saint Mary's University School of Law, he serves as chair of the House Committee on Public Health, and in 2016 he chaired the House Select Committee on Mental Health; and

WHEREAS, As chair of the select committee, Representative Price led a statewide examination of mental health care in Texas that included efforts to identify gaps in service and potential solutions to address those shortfalls; as part of this effort, he led a series of hearings to gather information from more than 100 expert witnesses from a diverse range of professions and made numerous on-site visits to mental health treatment facilities across the state; and

WHEREAS, Representative Price has been instrumental in legislative efforts to ensure that those facing mental health challenges have access to the best of treatment and care, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Representative Four Price on his exceptional work addressing the state's mental health issues and extend congratulations to him on receiving the Mary Elizabeth Holdsworth Butt Award for Mental Health; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 8, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate