SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 777

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Hutto Lutheran Church on the occasion of its 125th anniversary, which is being celebrated on June 25, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1892, Hutto Lutheran Church was founded as the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church by Swedish immigrants who had settled in the region when it was primarily a farming community; today, the church is an affiliate of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America through the Southwestern Texas Synod; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, Hutto Lutheran Church has ministered faithfully to the needs of innumerable Christians, and it has continued to carry out its mission to serve the community through worship, witness, education, and service; and

WHEREAS, Under the guidance and wise stewardship of its pastors, the church has grown and implemented numerous outreach ministries in support of Hutto residents; it was a founding organization of the Hutto Community Food Pantry, and the church is active in several programs that serve veterans, adults with special needs, and vulnerable residents in need of financial assistance; and

WHEREAS, Hutto Lutheran Church has been a source of strength for congregants during times of bereavement and adversity and a source of fellowship in times of abundance and prosperity; and

WHEREAS, The celebration of the church's 125th anniversary is an opportunity to reflect on its rich history and on the ministries it has established to the benefit of the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and congregants of Hutto Lutheran Church on the joyous occasion of the church's 125th anniversary; and, be it further

125th anniversary; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as a memento of this special event.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate