SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 809

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize James Jennings Ulbrich on the grand occasion of his 90th birthday; and

WHEREAS, Jim Ulbrich was born on April 7, 1927; he is a beloved resident of Seguin, and he is enjoying his retirement years on the Lazy U Ranch, which has been in his family for more

than a century; and WHEREAS, Mr. Ulbrich served with distinction in the United States Navy during World War II; he earned a master of science degree at Texas A&I University in 1955, and he had a rewarding career as an educator; and

WHEREAS, Jim and Edie Ulbrich purchased the Lazy U Ranch in 1970, and over the next several decades, Jim devoted much of his free time to constructing a prototype energy-efficient building that has become a private war memorial on the family property; the living monument was constructed by hand using limestone road base, and its interior walls now display oil paintings that depict pivotal moments in history; the SS American Memorial was dedicated in 2014, and today, the monument promotes the ideals of "God, Family, and Country" while serving as a place of fellowship for veterans and visitors; and

WHEREAS, Jim Ulbrich is a member of the American Legion Riders Post 245 in Seguin, which recently hosted the Seguin Art League's first Veterans' Visual Art Exhibit; Mr. Ulbrich was both an exhibitor and the opening reception speaker at the event; he is respected and admired by many, and fittingly, he celebrated his 90th birthday with friends, loved ones, and fellow veterans at the SS American Memorial; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby recognize James Jennings Ulbrich as a treasured citizen of the Lone Star State and extend to him congratulations on his 90th birthday; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini, Campbell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 18, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate