SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 839

WHEREAS, The Texas Sports Hall of Fame recognized the exceptional accomplishments of its 2017 inductees at a ceremony on February 21 in Waco; and

WHEREAS, Since inducting its first member in 1951, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame has honored the athletic careers of more than 300 men and women; in 1993, the institution opened a museum in Waco to chronicle the lives of these legendary individuals and to preserve the history of sports in Texas for present and future generations; and

WHEREAS, The 2017 class of inductees are former Houston Cougars National Collegiate Athletic Association women's volleyball players Rita Buck-Crockett and the late Flo Hyman, former Texas A&M and Los Angeles Rams defensive back Dave Elmendorf, Texas A&M University track and field coach Pat Henry, 2008 Olympic all-around gymnastics champion Nastia Liukin, former University of Texas track and football star Eric Metcalf, Los Angeles Rams defensive coordinator Wade Phillips, and former Dallas Cowboys All-Pro safety Darren Woodson; and

WHEREAS, Through their outstanding skill and dedication, these esteemed Texans have furthered the proud tradition of athletic excellence in the Lone Star State, and they are indeed deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby recognize the 2017 Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductees.

Birdwell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 22, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate