SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 849

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Colonel Craig Hunter, who is retiring on August 31, 2017, as director of Law Enforcement for the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department after more than three decades of outstanding state service; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Hunter joined the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in 1984 as a game warden; his first assignment was in Montgomery County, where he was one of the first to use a decoy deer to catch illegal night hunters; and

WHEREAS, He went on to hold numerous leadership positions within the department; he served as supervisor of the Internal Affairs Unit, the Executive Protection Team, Field Operations, and the Special Operations Unit; he also served in Governor Rick Perry's Special Operations Group and on the Homeland Security Council; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Hunter supervised hundreds of criminal investigations and a number of emergency response teams; he led a group of Texas game wardens to New Orleans in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, and the group was credited with more than 5,000 rescues; he holds a commission as an agent with the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, and in 1998, he became the first Texas game warden to graduate from the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, Colonel Hunter is respected and admired by his colleagues, and his presence with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Colonel Craig Hunter on his exceptional service to the people of Texas during his career with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by

the Senate on May 23, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate