SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 867

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Zuill Bailey, who has been named the recipient of two awards at the 59th annual Grammy Awards ceremony, which was held February 12, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Zuill Bailey received these prestigious awards for his work on *Tales of Hemingway*, a cello concerto commissioned and composed expressly for him in 2015; he won in the categories of best classical instrumental solo and best contemporary classical composition, and the composer of the pieces, Michael Daugherty, also received a Grammy for best contemporary classical composition; and WHEREAS, Mr. Bailey is a world-renowned cellist and is

WHEREAS, Mr. Bailey is a world-renowned cellist and is artistic director of El Paso Pro-Musica, where he has worked for 16 years to bring musical educational opportunities to students throughout the El Paso region; he has been responsible for recruiting numerous famous artists to perform in the city to advance music education and appreciation and to build a new generation of classical music enthusiasts; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, El Paso Pro-Musica has forged relationships with a wide range of institutions and local arts organizations, including The University of Texas at El Paso, the El Paso Museum of Art, and the El Paso Symphony Orchestra; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of the Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins University and the Juilliard School, Mr. Bailey has had a profound impact on the arts community in El Paso, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend Zuill Bailey on his exceptional leadership as artistic director of El Paso Pro-Musica and extend congratulations to him on receiving two 2017 Grammy Awards; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Rodríguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 24, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate