SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 872

WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has announced the appointment of Carol Coffee Reposa as the 2018 State Poet Laureate; and

WHEREAS, The Texas State Artist designations are awarded to a select group of individuals to honor the exceptional quality of their work and their outstanding commitment to the arts in Texas; and

WHEREAS, A truly worthy recipient of this prestigious distinction, Carol Coffee Reposa is the author of four highly regarded volumes of poetry--At the Border: Winter Lights, The Green Room, Facts of Life, and Underground Musicians--and her poems, reviews, and essays have been accepted for publication in such journals as the Atlanta Review, the Evansville Review, the Texas Observer, and Southwestern American Literature; and

WHEREAS, Carol Coffee Reposa is the winner of the Guadalupe Cultural Arts Center Poetry Contest, and she has earned the San Antonio Public Library Arts and Letters Award, along with three Fulbright-Hays Fellowships and three nominations for the Pushcart Prize; a professor emerita at San Antonio College since 2010, she currently serves as the poetry editor of *Voices de la Luna*, and she was recently elected to the Texas Institute of Letters; and

WHEREAS, Widely admired for her immense talent, Carol Coffee Reposa has made important contributions to her chosen field of artistic endeavor, and in so doing, she has enriched the cultural vitality of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby congratulate Carol Coffee Reposa on her selection as the 2018 State Poet Laureate and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Carol Coffee Reposa as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Menéndez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 24, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate