SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 915

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the staff and volunteers of the Arc of the Capital Area's pro bono guardianship program; and

WHEREAS, For more than a decade, the Arc of the Capital Area has worked with the Travis County Probate Court and volunteer attorneys throughout Austin to help economically disadvantaged families obtain guardianships for their loved ones with intellectual and developmental disabilities; and

WHEREAS, In the years since the program's establishment, attorneys have donated thousands of hours toward assisting families and have established more than 150 guardianships; and

WHEREAS, The pro bono guardianship program is organized by local attorney Jason Scott, who works in conjunction with Arc representative Kerim Peirce and Travis County Probate Court staff members Tom Ruffner and Monica Limon; the lawyers who provided services through the program this year are Liesel Rickhoff, Jason Blake Tollett, Rose Cohen, Steven Hare, Jamie MacLean, Charles Smaistrla, John Crane, Elizabeth Powdrill, Josh Rogers, Don Carnes, Evan Johnston, Jason Scott, Russell Booth, Leigh Banaszak, Mark Schreiber, Megan Grossman, Michael Knisely, and Barbara Lipscomb; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary volunteers work diligently to help families gain the tools and access they need to ensure proper financial, medical, and legal care for their loved ones, and they are indeed deserving of recognition for their selfless service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 85th Legislature, hereby commend all associated with the pro bono guardianship program of the Arc of the Capital Area and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this program and as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2017.

Secretary of the Senate