Thursday, February 2, 2017

8:00 AM

Betty King Committee Room




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, February 2, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.







Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair



Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair



Senator Dawn Buckingham



Senator Craig Estes



Senator José Menéndez



Senator Borris Miles



Senator Van Taylor






The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Jose Menendez.


Senator Watson moved adoption of the minutes from the January 26, 2017, meeting. There being no objection, the minutes were adopted.


Senator Estes moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: University of Texas System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 1 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Menendez submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye, without objection it was so ordered.


Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Jose Rodriguez to introduce the Secretary of State nominee, Rolando Pablos, to the members of the committee.


Mr. Pablos made an opening statement and answered questions from the following members: Chairman Birdwell, Senator Menendez, Senator Miles, Senator Buckingham, and Senator Watson.


Senator Watson assumed the chair at 8:25 a.m.


Chairman Birdwell resumed the chair at 8:35 a.m.


At the request of Senator Watson, Mr. Pablos will be submitting answers, to the committee, pertaining to the number and types of complaints received by the office of the Secretary of State.  Mr. Pablos will submit the requested information before the next meeting of the committee.


Upon completion of questions, no public testimony was offered. The nomination of Mr. Rolando Pablos, to be the next Secretary of State, and all non-appearing nominees were left pending before the committee.


There being no further business, at 9:06 a.m., Senator Watson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.





Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair




John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk