Monday, May 1, 2017

9:30 AM

Betty King Committee Room




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 1, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.







Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair


Senator José Menéndez

Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair



Senator Dawn Buckingham



Senator Craig Estes



Senator Borris Miles



Senator Van Taylor






The chair called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Buckingham and Senator Miles.


Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Huffman to introduce Mr. Kevin Lilly, who has been nominated to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, to the committee.


Mr. Lilly made an opening statement and took questions and comments from the following members: Senator Estes, Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Hancock, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Buckingham.


Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.


Chairman Birdwell announced that Mr. Lilly’s nomination would be left pending before the committee.


There being no further business, at 10:37 a.m., Senator Miles moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.




Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair




John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk