MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 23, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 23, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Craig Estes Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator José Menéndez

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the role was called: Senator Borris Miles, Senator Craig Estes, and Senator Van Taylor.

Senator Taylor moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, March 16, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Vice-Chairman Watson moved to sever the nominations to the Finance Commission of Texas.

Senator Estes moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: the State Board of Dental Examiners, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, and the Texas Racing Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent.

Senator Birdwell moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entity: Finance Commission of Texas. The motion carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 0 nays, 1 present not voting, and 2 absent.

Senator Watson assumed the chair. The chair laid out SB 670 and recognized the author, Senator Birdwell, to explain the bill. Senator Birdwell sent up a committee substitute to SB670 and was recognized to explain the difference between the committee substitute and the bill as filled. Senator Birdwell moved that the committee substitute for SB670 be adopted. There being no objection, the committee substitute was adopted.

Public testimony was opened. No one registered to speak on, for, or against CSSB670.

The chair moved that public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Birdwell moved that SB 670 do not pass but that CSSB 670 be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Birdwell moved that the bill be recommended for placement on the Local & Uncontested Calendar; without objection, it was so ordered.

The chair laid out SB 705 and recognized the author, Senator Birdwell, to explain the bill. Senator Birdwell sent up a committee substitute to SB705 and was recognized to explain the difference between the committee substitute and the bill as filled. Senator Birdwell moved that the committee substitute for SB705 be adopted. There being no objection, the committee substitute was adopted

Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on the attached list.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Birdwell moved that SB 705 do not pass but that CSSB 705 be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Birdwell moved that the bill be recommended for placement on the Local & Uncontested Calendar; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Birdwell resumed the chair.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Ms. Pama Hencerling, who has been re-nominated to serve on the Texas Juvenile Justice Board, to give an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chairman Birdwell and Dean Whitmire.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Lucio to introduce his constituent Chief Roberto Dominguez, who has been re-nominated to serve on the Governing Board of the Texas Civil Commitment Office.

Chief Dominguez made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Dean Whitmire and Senator Birdwell.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 8:58 a.m., Senator Taylor moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair

John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk