## **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 30, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 30, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator Van Taylor

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator José Menéndez Senator Borris Miles

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Senator Taylor moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, March 23, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Estes moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Governing Board of the Texas Civil Commitment Office, Real Estate Research Advisory Committee, Texas Diabetes Council, and Texas Juvenile Justice Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Seliger to introduce his constituent, Mr. Syed J. Anwar, who has been re-nominated to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to the committee.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Thursday, March 30, 2017 Page 2

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Hughes to introduce his constituent, Mr. Bret McCoy, who has been nominated to the Sulphur River Basin Authority Board of Directors to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Buckingham to introduce her constituent, Mr. Keith Pardue, who has been re-nominated to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners to the committee.

Mr. Anwar made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Senator Taylor and Chairman Birdwell.

Mr. Pardue gave an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Vice-Chairman Watson, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Buckingham.

Mr. McCoy gave an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chairman Birdwell.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the Committee.

There being no further business, at 9:54 a.m., Senator Birdwell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	
Schalor Brian Britwen, Chan	
John Ryan Isaacson Clerk	