MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Wednesday, April 12, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator José Menéndez

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m. There not being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Miles, and Senator Taylor.

Senator Estes moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday April 6, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Buckingham moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, Texas Board of Medical Radiologic Technology, Texas Board of Nursing, Texas Economic Development Corporation, Texas Transportation Commission, and University of Houston System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 1 present not voting, and 1 absent. Motions in writing were submitted by Vice-Chairman Watson and Senator Taylor. Vice-Chairman Watson asked to be shown voting aye on all pending

nominees from the April 6, 2017, meeting. Senator Taylor asked to be shown voting aye on all pending nominees from the April 6, 2017, meeting, with the exception of the nomination of Tilman Fertitta for whom he asked to be shown present not voting. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Zaffirini to introduce Ms. Anna Galo, who has been nominated to the Parks and Wildlife Commission, to the committee

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Buckingham to introduce Judge Richard Evans, who has been nominated to the Governing Board of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Buckingham to also introduce Sheriff David Gutierrez, who has been re-nominated to the Board of Pardons and Paroles, to the committee.

Ms. Galo gave an opening statement and took questions and comments from the following members: Senator Estes and Chairman Birdwell.

Judge Evans gave an opening statement and took questions from Chairman Birdwell.

Sheriff Gutierrez gave an opening statement and took questions from Chairman Birdwell.

Upon the completion of questions, public testimony was given. See attached witness list.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:54 a.m., Chairman Birdwell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair

John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk