#### MINUTES

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, May 4, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, May 4, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor Senator José Menéndez

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m. There not being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senators Taylor, Senator Estes, and Senator Miles. A quorum was established.

Senator Buckingham moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Thursday, April 27, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Vice-Chairman Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: 440th Judicial District Court, Coryell County, Commission on Jail Standards, Manufactured Housing Board, Pecos River Compact Commission, Product Development and Small Business Incubator Board, Public Safety Commission, State Board for Educator Certification, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees, Texas

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Thursday, May 4, 2017 Page 2

Board of Professional Engineers, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Texas Forensic Science Commission, Texas Lottery Commission, Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission, and Texas Underground Facility Notification Corporation (One-Call Board). The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Miles and Senator Estes submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Vice-Chairman Watson was recognized to introduce Mr. August W. Harris, III, who has been nominated by the Supreme Court of Texas to the Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas, to the committee.

Vice-Chairman Watson also introduced Mrs. Lesli G. Ginn, who has been re-nominated as the Chief Administrative Law Judge, to the committee.

Senator Creighton was recognized to introduce Mrs. Nelda L. Blair, who has been nominated to the Stephen F. Austin State University board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Nichols was recognized to introduce Mr. James P. Jeffers, who has been re-nominated to the Texas Municipal Retirement Board of Trustees, to the committee. Senator Nichols also offered comments of support for Mrs. Nelda L. Blair.

Mr. Harris made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Taylor, and Chairman Birdwell.

Mrs. Blair made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Senator Taylor, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Miles.

Mr. Jeffers made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Vice-Chairman Watson, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Nichols.

Mrs. Ginn made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chairman Birdwell and Vice-Chairman Watson.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Thursday, May 4, 2017 Page 3

There being no further business, at 9:49 a.m., Vice-Chairman Watson moved that the committee	
stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without	objection, it was so ordered.
C , D : D' L II CI :	
Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	
John Dyran Jacobson, Clauly	
John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk	