86R7620 KSM-D
  By: Biedermann H.C.R. No. 37
         WHEREAS, The Texas Hill Country is home to more than 50
  wineries and vineyards, and Fredericksburg is the epicenter of this
  popular region; and
         WHEREAS, Early in the history of Fredericksburg, settlers
  used the native mustang grape to make wine; subsequent generations
  refined the cultivation of grapes and production of wine, and in
  recent years, several wines produced by area vineyards and wineries
  have won state and national awards, attesting to the high quality of
  local viticulture; and
         WHEREAS, Over 600 acres of land north and west of
  Fredericksburg are dedicated to growing grapes, and the
  concentration of vineyards and wineries along U.S. Highway 290
  draws a host of tourists; visitors enjoy patronizing tasting rooms,
  wine cellars, festivals, and a variety of other events, and a number
  of guided tours have been established for the convenience of
  customers; and
         WHEREAS, In recognition of Fredericksburg's importance as a
  wine-making center, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
  has established the Fredericksburg in the Texas Hill Country
  American Viticultural Area, one of just 242 AVA locations in the
  nation; and
         WHEREAS, Justly proud of its German heritage, Fredericksburg
  was designated as the Polka Capital of Texas by the 73rd Texas
  Legislature in 1993; while the city's cultural roots remain a
  touchstone for its citizens and its many visitors, the wine
  industry has recently become an increasingly prominent focus of
  local tourism due to its rapid growth; and
         WHEREAS, Hill Country wineries and vineyards contribute
  significantly to the prosperity of Fredericksburg, and they have
  brought the city international recognition that is a source of
  pride to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby designate Fredericksburg as the official Wine Capital of
  Texas, replacing the city's previous designation as the Polka
  Capital of Texas; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That, in accordance with the provisions of Section
  391.003(e), Government Code, this designation remain in effect
  until the 10th anniversary of the date this resolution is finally
  passed by the legislature.