86R25792 SME-D
  By: Fierro H.R. No. 1231
         WHEREAS, The men's and women's cross country & half marathon
  teams at El Paso Community College continued the program's
  tradition of success with an outstanding 2018 season; and
         WHEREAS, The Tejanos and Tejanas closed out the year with
  exceptional showings in two high-profile events; at the National
  Junior College Athletic Association Cross Country Championships
  held in Garden City, Kansas, on November 10, both teams tallied
  impressive scores in their Division I races, with the women's squad
  achieving second place and the men's squad taking third; and
         WHEREAS, Only a week later, these dedicated athletes once
  again matched up against competitors from across the country in the
  NJCAA Half Marathon Championships in Orange Beach, Alabama; both
  squads recorded first-place finishes, with the Tejanas claiming
  their fifth national title and the Tejanos capturing the team's
  first championship crown in program history; moreover, Elias
  Loriposia took home the men's individual title; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to their exemplary performances in
  competition, the EPCC runners have also maintained a commitment to
  excellence in the classroom, boasting team grade point averages of
  higher than 3.24; and
         WHEREAS, With their accomplishments on the national stage,
  the EPCC cross country & half marathon athletes have become a source
  of great pride to their school, and all those associated with the
  teams are indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the El Paso Community College
  Tejano and Tejana cross country & half marathon teams on an
  outstanding 2018 season and extend to the runners, coaches, and
  staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.