86R24236 JGH-D
  By: Herrero H.R. No. 1276
         WHEREAS, Battalion Chief Juan Perez has been named
  Firefighter of the Year for 2018 by the Corpus Christi Fire
  Department in recognition of his outstanding service; and
         WHEREAS, A member of the department since 2002, "Tony" Perez
  is assigned to Fire Station No. 5, where he has earned the respect
  and admiration of his colleagues by taking on such additional
  responsibilities as hazardous materials and rescue training as well
  as career development; he is the first battalion chief to be named
  Firefighter of the Year; and
         WHEREAS, Chief Perez also received the Medal of Valor award,
  the department's second-highest honor, for the critical role he
  played in rescuing an elderly woman from a burning house; in
  February 2018, Chief Perez and another firefighter were among the
  first on the scene, and, without wearing protective gear, they
  braved the smoke-filled home and quickly found the woman and
  brought her out to safety; and
         WHEREAS, Tony Perez has demonstrated uncommon dedication,
  leadership, and courage as he has worked to protect the lives and
  property of his fellow citizens, and he is truly deserving of
  special recognition; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Battalion Chief Juan "Tony" Perez
  on being named 2018 Firefighter of the Year by the Corpus Christi
  Fire Department and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
  success in his important work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Chief Perez as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.