86R20689 BPG-D
  By: Bucy H.R. No. 1281
         WHEREAS, The 100th birthday of an esteemed Texan is truly
  cause for celebration, and Esthermay Cornwell Johnston of Austin is
  reaching that impressive milestone on May 13, 2019; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Okmulgee, Oklahoma, in 1919, Esthermay
  Johnston moved to Beaumont with her family during the Great
  Depression, when she was 12 years old; she attended Stephen F.
  Austin State University, and her election as "Miss Daisy Mae" led to
  her first date with Everett Johnston; married in 1942, they became
  the proud parents of a daughter, Mary Luretta, and they were later
  blessed with two granddaughters, Virginia and Madeline; the couple
  shared a rewarding marriage of 54 years before Mr. Johnston's
  passing; and
         WHEREAS, Mrs. Johnston taught in public schools for three
  decades, and she spent the majority of her career at Margaret B.
  Henderson Elementary School in the Dallas Independent School
  District, where she took a whole child approach to address the
  comprehensive needs and long-term development of her students; and
         WHEREAS, A woman of faith, Mrs. Johnston is a lifelong member
  of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ); she was the first
  woman to be named elder emeritus at Rosemont Christian Church in
  Dallas, and she was also named life elder at University Christian
  Church in Austin, where she remains active in the congregation; and
         WHEREAS, Esthermay Johnston is a source of wisdom and
  inspiration, and she holds a special place in the hearts of all
  those who are fortunate enough to know her; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Esthermay Cornwell Johnston on the
  joyous occasion of her 100th birthday and extend to her sincere best
  wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mrs. Johnston as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.