H.R. No. 1620
         WHEREAS, Corporal Joshua Moer of the Texas Department of
  Public Safety has been honored as the 2018 Trooper of the Year by
  the International Association of Chiefs of Police in recognition of
  his swift, decisive, and courageous actions that were instrumental
  in saving the life of an individual who had been kidnapped; and
         WHEREAS, On the morning of April 26, 2018, a 20-year-old
  woman was abducted in Norman, Oklahoma, by her estranged boyfriend,
  who held her captive during a harrowing three-hour drive; the
  perpetrator's vehicle was spotted shortly after it crossed the
  Oklahoma-Texas border on I-44, and numerous Texas law enforcement
  agencies joined in a chase through the Wichita Falls area that
  reached speeds of nearly 150 miles per hour; and
         WHEREAS, Officers managed to lay a spike strip across the
  road near Vernon that successfully disabled the suspect's car;
  Corporal Moer was one of the first on the scene, and as he and other
  officers approached, the kidnapped woman ran from the car in a
  desperate attempt to escape; her assailant gave chase, tackled her
  to the ground, and began to stab her; and
         WHEREAS, Corporal Moer fired a shot and ordered the man to
  stop; the perpetrator continued his attack, and Corporal Moer and
  another officer fired their weapons, striking the man and killing
  him; working in conjunction with the other first responders,
  Corporal Moer assisted in providing first aid to the woman, who had
  suffered more than a dozen stab wounds; thanks to the officers'
  intervention and the prompt medical attention that followed, she
  survived; a month later, she traveled back to Wichita Falls to
  personally thank the individuals who rescued her; and
         WHEREAS, Acting with calm dispatch in a critical situation,
  Corporal Joshua Moer succeeded in stopping a near-fatal attack, and
  his lifesaving efforts indeed merit this prestigious honor; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Corporal Joshua Moer on his
  well-deserved selection as the 2018 Trooper of the Year by the
  International Association of Chiefs of Police and extend to him
  sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. Moer as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble
Allen Guillen Oliverson
Allison Gutierrez Ortega
Anchia Harless Pacheco
Anderson Harris Paddie
Ashby Hefner Parker
Bailes Hernandez Patterson
Beckley Herrero Paul
Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez
Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan
Bernal Howard Price
Biedermann Huberty Ramos
Blanco Hunter Raney
Bohac Israel Raymond
Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds
Bowers J. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez
Buckley Johnson of Harris Romero, Jr.
Bucy Kacal Rose
Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal
Burrows King of Parker Sanford
Button King of Uvalde Schaefer
Cain Klick Shaheen
Calanni Krause Sheffield
Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr.
Capriglione Lambert Shine
Clardy Landgraf Smith
Cole Lang Smithee
Coleman Larson Springer
Collier Leach Stephenson
Cortez Leman Stickland
Craddick Longoria Stucky
Cyrier Lopez Swanson
Darby Lozano Talarico
Davis of Dallas Lucio III Thierry
Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Dean Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt
Dominguez Meyer Toth
Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas
Farrar Middleton Turner of Tarrant
Fierro Miller VanDeaver
Flynn Minjarez Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morales White
Geren Morrison Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Wray
Goldman Murphy Wu
González of Dallas Murr Zedler
González of El Paso Neave Zerwas
Goodwin Nevárez Zwiener
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1620 was adopted by the House on May 13,
  2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House