H.R. No. 1653
         WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Dulles High School
  in Sugar Land enjoyed great success during the 2019 United States
  Academic Decathlon Nationals competition in Bloomington,
  Minnesota, April 25-27; and
         WHEREAS, The academic decathlon program provides high school
  students with the opportunity to participate in rigorous
  competition and demonstrate their abilities in team activities that
  encompass disciplines such as math, science, language, art, music,
  economics, social science, speech, essay, and interview; and
         WHEREAS, The Dulles team excelled at the national meet,
  finishing as the third place Overall Team and second place Division
  I Team with 50,443.8 points; the Vikings also took home the silver
  in the Super Quiz category, and they received the title of Division
  I Rookie of the Year; and
         WHEREAS, A number of Dulles students earned individual
  accolades, including most valuable team member Ali Abi Nassif, who
  won second place Varsity in Interview and third place Varsity in
  Math, and highest-scoring team member Simon Sanchez-Paiva, who won
  third place Overall Scholastic, first place Scholastic in Music,
  Social Science, Literature, an
  d Art, second place Scholastic in
  Economics and Science, and third place Scholastic in Math; many
  other members of the roster also earned awards, including: Lana
  Haffar, second place Honors in Arts and Social Science; Logan
  House, second place Varsity in Math and third place Varsity in Music
  and Art; Ethan Sollenberger, first place Scholastic in Math, second
  place Scholastic in Music, and third place Scholastic in Essay;
  Davis Varghese, third place Overall Varsity, first place Varsity in
  Math and Music, and second place Varsity in Economics, Social
  Science, and Science; Robert Yang, first place Honors in Math and
  Literature and third place Honors in Social Science; Sophie Yangyi,
  first place Honors in Arts, second place Honors in Economics and
  Social Science, and third place Honors in Music and Literature; and
  Olivia Jackson, third place Scholastic in Math, Literature, and
  Literature in Art; and
         WHEREAS, These outstanding young Texans have demonstrated
  great skill, knowledge, and dedication, and with their fine showing
  during the 2019 USAD national contest, they have brought tremendous
  pride to their school and community; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the Dulles High School academic
  decathlon team on a successful showing at the 2019 USAD Nationals
  competition and extend to its members and coaches sincere best
  wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble
Allen Guillen Oliverson
Allison Gutierrez Ortega
Anchia Harless Pacheco
Anderson Harris Paddie
Ashby Hefner Parker
Bailes Hernandez Patterson
Beckley Herrero Paul
Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez
Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan
Bernal Howard Price
Biedermann Huberty Ramos
Blanco Hunter Raney
Bohac Israel Raymond
Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds
Bowers J. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez
Buckley Johnson of Harris Romero, Jr.
Bucy Kacal Rose
Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal
Burrows King of Parker Sanford
Button King of Uvalde Schaefer
Cain Klick Shaheen
Calanni Krause Sheffield
Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr.
Capriglione Lambert Shine
Clardy Landgraf Smith
Cole Lang Smithee
Coleman Larson Springer
Collier Leach Stephenson
Cortez Leman Stickland
Craddick Longoria Stucky
Cyrier Lopez Swanson
Darby Lozano Talarico
Davis of Dallas Lucio III Thierry
Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria
Dean Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris
Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt
Dominguez Meyer Toth
Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas
Farrar Middleton Turner of Tarrant
Fierro Miller VanDeaver
Flynn Minjarez Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morales White
Geren Morrison Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Wray
Goldman Murphy Wu
González of Dallas Murr Zedler
González of El Paso Neave Zerwas
Goodwin Nevárez Zwiener
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1653 was adopted by the House on May 24,
  2019, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House